Employer support for recruitment - Tauranga Chamber of Commerce

Employer support for recruitment

Did you know the Ministry of Social Development (MSD)’s work services team is made up of 20 work brokers across the region?

Their role is to provide a free recruitment service to help employers recruit local people into sustainable employment.

This support is available to help businesses find, train and retain great people as well as having access to the largest pool of available talent across the country.

Western Bay of Plenty is serviced by an eight-strong team who, along with three employment co-ordinators, work out of Greerton, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui and Te Puke sites. Together they have more than 80 years’ work broking experience.

A typical day could see them listing vacancies, sharing employment subsidy information or providing post-placement support to a client who may have recently re-entered the work force. Evenings could see them attending business or community events.

The team keep abreast of the local labour market and seasonal trends and are committed to helping employers by getting to know their business and finding the right people for the workplace.

While the focus is to source and list vacancies, potential applicants can also be pre-screened to match an employer’s specific requirements.

Work brokers can advertise a vacancy, shortlist and help with the interview process. The team can also take the stress out of bulk recruitment by facilitating seminars, screening potential applicants and selecting candidates.

While the impacts of COVID-19 have been felt across the country, the team hold fast to their commitment to work with employers to help businesses stay open and keep the Bay of Plenty working.  The Wage Subsidy and Wage Subsidy Extension enabled many employers to keep paying staff – during July, 353 Western Bay of Plenty people moved off main benefits into work.

For more information about how we can help your business contact a work broker, email employers_tauranga@msd.govt.nz or go to https://www.workandincome.govt.nz/employers/

Mount Maunganui Employment Centre

Work Broker

Tina Gerrard                      07 928 8620                        tina.gerrard001@msd.govt.nz

Employment Co-ordinator

Katie Richardson               07 928 8620                        Katie.Richardson013@msd.govt.nz

Tauranga Service Centre

Work Broker

Maurice Pohatu 07 928 8283                        maurice.pohatu001@msd.govt.nz

Dave Bryan                         07 928 8334                        Dave.Bryan005@msd.govt.nz

Dan McClintock 07 928 8335                        Dan.McClintock004@msd.govt.nz

Employment Co-ordinator

Amiria Ngatai                     07 928 8339                       amiria.ngatai001@msd.govt.nz

 Greerton Service Centre

Work Broker

Roselyn Naickar 07 928 8506                        Roselyn.Nackar001@msd.govt.nz

Tania Epiha                         07 928 8284                        tania.epiha001@msd.govt.nz

Employment Co-ordinator

Tanya Williams  07 928 8509                        Tanya.Williams013@msd.govt.nz

Te Puke Service Centre

Work Broker

Ben Francis                                                                         ben.francis001@msd.govt.nz

Work broker (seasonal work)

Marian Jamieson              07 928 8251                        marian.jamieson001@msd.govt.nz

Scroll to Top