Tauranga Business Awards

The big question: Which category should I enter?

There are 11 categories you can enter your business in.  

Our Sector Excellence categories look at what you do: Are you an emerging business, having been in operation for less than three years? Perhaps your manufacturing, construction or distribution practices are world-class, or you might deliver outstanding service to your customers.  

Then there’s the Business Practice categories, the how you do what you do. This covers everything from digital innovation, continuous improvement, sustainability, customer experience and workplace safety.  

Sector Excellence Categories

Emerging Business

Recognises those businesses that have achieved significant business growth and have been in operation for more than one year and less than three years. As a result of effective planning and delivery, these businesses are commercially trading and earning revenue.

Sponsored by Toi Ohomai/Te Pūkenga

Māori and Pacific Business Excellence

Recognises Māori and Pacific businesses in the Tauranga and Western Bay of Plenty. Through demonstrating values, social and cultural outcomes for their community, and can demonstrate an intergenerational outcome for the future. The business, through their continued investment, have created or retained jobs, improved the general wellbeing of the community, and generated economic growth.

Sponsored by Te Puni Kōkori and Ministry for Pacific Peoples

Service Excellence Award

Recognises the successes and achievements of a business delivering services to the customer, or a business whose principal activity is in the provision of services.

Sponsored by Bay Venues

Excellence in International Trade

Recognises a business that identifies and maximises benefits offered by trading in the global marketplace and achieves sustainable growth. International Trade includes both importing and exporting via a product, service or technology.

Sponsored by Zespri International

Best Business Practice Categories

Business, Digital & Technology Innovation

Recognises the digital economy through online business and technology. Includes smartphones, social networks, cloud computing, big data, the Internet, and digital technologies transforming organizations across every industry. Through exciting developments, access to new solutions, and services the “age of the customer” has arrived. This could include a digital application within an existing business that has led to transformation and productivity.

Sponsored by Trustpower

Continuous Improvement/Lean Award

Recognises a business where there is an ongoing effort to improve products, services or processes. These efforts can seek “incremental” or “breakthrough” improvement, and are focused on increasing the effectiveness and/or efficiency of an organisation.

Sponsored by Ballance and Productivity People

Marketing & Communications Award

Recognises businesses that show a commitment to marketing, communication, and social media, making them clear leaders in this field. Communication includes sharing information both inside and outside a company. Social media marketing is the use of social media to connect with your audience, increase sales, and drive website traffic by publishing great content, listening to and engaging your followers, analysing your results, and social media advertising.

Sponsored by Farmer Autovillage

People & Culture Award

Recognises a company that can demonstrate that it provides a workplace culture which provides everyone with the opportunity to initiate change, to grow on a professional and personal aspect, voice their opinions, and chase the values they believe in. That creates satisfied employees which increases productivity.

Sponsored by 2degrees

Customer Experience Award

Recognises a business that succeeds through consistent dedication to outstanding service and demonstrates its commitment through its service policy, staff training and/or other specific means.

Sponsored by King St Advertising

Workplace Safety

Recognises a business that demonstrates excellence in workplace health and safety practices and that has successfully integrated these into its operation. A positive safety culture exists at all levels within the business.

Sponsored by Vertical Horizonz

Corporate Leadership Award

Recognises a significant company for their outstanding contribution to the region’s economy. The business will demonstrate economic impact, employment scale, and investment in the area and community involvement. The business, through their continued investment, have created or retained jobs, improved the general wellbeing of the community and generated economic growth throughout the Tauranga and western Bay of Plenty.

Sponsored by The University of Waikato

People's Choice Award

This award is open to all entrants in the Tauranga Business of the Year category. All entrants will go up for public voting between October and November 2022. Details to come.

Sponsored by NZME

Tauranga Business of the Year.

All award entrants are eligible for the supreme award.

Presented by Tauranga Chamber of Commerce

To be announced on the night. The winner will be selected from the awards finalists.

The judging process

Part One: Site visits

An Independent Facilitator will do all site visits, to ensure consistency and to get a better understanding of your people and your place. At the site visit, they will drill to the detail of your entry form to gain a comprehensive impression of the business. 

This interview could take up to two hours and will be booked in prior.

The Independent Facilitator will then mark the businesses and write up constructive feedback for the judges and for you to review after the awards night. 

Part Two: Pitch Weekend 

Each entrant will pitch their business to a panel of judges, led by the Independent Facilitator. There will be specialist judges for business practice categories. All our judges are selected for their business skill and knowledge.

You have the opportunity to bring your team and present your pitch in anyway that best showcases your business and puts your case forward for a win.

The entire judging panel consider the finalists and have input into the Tauranga Business of the Year Award. 

We take your confidentiality seriously:

  • All awards entry documentation and official entry forms are treated as confidential.
  • All judges sign a confidentiality agreement.
  • Judges are required to declare conflicts of interest.
  • Information regarding participation, any awards, or successful strategies may be released only after written approval from the entrant.